Team

Xavier is designed for teams. Clients and shared reports can all be accessed by team members. There is no limit to the number of team members you can have in Xavier, and your subscription pricing is based on the number of clients you have linked, not how many members are in your team. Your team is created when you register - even if you fly solo you'll be the owner of a "team" in Xavier.

Team Roles

The creator of a team will be the team owner, everyone else will be team members. Only the team owner can perform team management actions like inviting a team member or adjusting billing and subscription settings.

Team Settings

The Team Settings are available in the sidebar in the Team View; from here, you can manage all things Team related...

Team Profile

You can add a team icon here, and also add a branding header. This header image will be added to the top of Xavier's PDF exports. It's best suited to a smaller logo than a large facebook-style banner image, as it will display at about 70px high on the PDF, so we would recommend uploading an image no larger than 100px tall, and no wider than 800px. We only accept .jpg and .png image formats.

You can also change your Team Name in this view, if you need to. Fix a typo, have an identity crisis, or go for a whole pivot!

Team Members

This view allows you to invite, view and update all members of your team in Xavier. See below for more information on how to manage your team.

Team Subscription

Manage your subscription with Xavier, view your subscription plan and the breakdown of Xavier's rolling discounts within your clients. You can also manage your billing information, and add any coupon codes.

Inviting Team Members

If you're the team owner, you can invite other people to become members of your team in the Team Members section of the Team Settings, or via the Invite Team action in the menu underneath your user icon in the top-right corner of Xavier. This will also take you through to the Team Members section of the team settings.

Invite Team

An invite will be emailed to your colleague with a link to Xavier. When they click on the link in the email to accept, they'll be asked to sign up and provide login details. They'll be automatically added to your team via this process.

Two-Factor Authentication

Team Members can enable Two-Factor Authentication (2FA). 2FA provides additional account security by requiring you to provide a token during login in addition to your username and password. This token is retrieved from an application on your mobile phone. Xavier uses Authy to provide 2FA. To get started, Team Members should download and install the Authy mobile app for iOS or Android, then follow the instructions below:

Enabling 2FA

Turning on 2FA in Xavier is simple. From the drop-down User Menu in the top right of your screen, select Your Settings, then head to Security. Enter your country code (e.g. +44 for the UK) and mobile number and click "Enable".

Enable 2FA

TIP

Xavier will give you an emergency recovery token that allows you to login if you've lost your phone. Take note of it immediately by storing it in a safe secure place, such as a Password Manager.

Logging in with 2FA

If you have 2FA enabled, enter your email address and password like normal, then you'll be presented with one extra step where you need to enter the 2FA token. Retrieve this from the Authy mobile app:

Login with 2FA

Disabling 2FA

You can disable 2FA in the same place you enabled it. From the drop-down User Menu in the top right of your screen, select Your Settings, then head to Security.

Monitor Adoption of 2FA

If you're the team owner, you can see which team members have enabled 2FA. From the drop-down User Menu in the top right of your screen, select Team Settings, then head to Team Members:

2FA Adoption

Account Managers

If your team manages many clients, you'll likely have a concept in your team structure where certain people look after certain clients. In Xavier, we refer to these people as Account Managers.

When you first create a Xavier client, you'll be automatically assigned to that client as the Account Manager. You can see who each client's Account Manager by their icon on the Client List card, and filter the list so that you only see the clients that you manage:

Account Manager

To change who the Account Manager is for a client, click on the client in the client list, then Edit from the Client Overview.

Edit Account Manager

Aside from having a streamlined view in the Client List, we have bigger plans for the Account Manager function - watch this space!

Lock Dates

Lock Dates are a feature of Xero designed to help prevent changes to records in periods that have already been reported on or filed:

Xero Lock Dates

Xavier combines knowledge of a client's lock dates in Xero with account filing information from Companies House (where available) to help you keep Xero data stable.

As you can see in the Xero screenshot above, there are two lock date concepts in Xero. Xero do not give them specific names, but in Xavier we define them as:

  • Reporting Period Lock Date (the first one in Xero): this lock date usually tracks your monthly or quarterly reporting period. Records older than this lock date shouldn't usually be altered, but since the financial year may still be active then this may still happen - but only advisors should be able to alter.

  • End of Year Lock Date (the second one in Xero): this is the date at which the last filed company's accounts were made up to. No changes should be made to records beyond this date. The implications of changing this are usually more severe.

There are some limitations to Xero's handling of lock dates: anyone with access to a client's settings in Xero can change the lock dates. There is nothing preventing users from changing the locked period to a date in the past, allowing them to change historical records, and there is no history of this change taking place. If this is problematic for you, Xavier has your back...

Lock Date History

Xavier tracks changes to Xero's lock dates. You can view the history of these changes from Insights > Lock Date History:

Lock Date History

Changes that have shifted the dates backwards are flagged so that you can quickly spot possible issues and dig deeper. Reporting Period backwards changes are flagged with a warning, End of Year backwards changes get an error flag.

End of Year Dates

If a company registration number is provided in Xero, Xavier queries Companies House to get accounts filing information. If the last-filed date in Companies House is more recent than the current End of Year lock date in Xero, Xavier will raise a warning.

End of Year Lock Date Warning

Reporting Periods

By encouraging the active maintenance of monthly reporting period lock dates in Xero, your team can reduce the amount of data inconsistencies between Xero and third parties.

A typical reporting cycle might be that at the end of each month, the accounting team has two weeks to prepare and submit their end of month reports to a client. Once the reports are submitted the Reporting Period Lock Date would be brought forward in Xero to restrict changes from being made in the closed period.

In Xavier, you can configure a team-wide grace period that indicates how long your team has to close off the month and update the lock dates in Xero:

Lock Date Grace

If a client's Reporting Period Lock Date slips behind the grace period, Xavier will show this as an alert on the Client Overview page.

Locked Records in Reporting

The concept of records being in locked periods is carried throughout Xavier. The Sandbox, custom reports and insights such as Unreconciled Transactions all show whether a particular record falls within a locked period. You can then choose to filter out or sort by this attribute.

Locked Records

Learn more about lock dates in Xero.

Last Updated: 7/16/2019, 4:02:22 PM